The Veterinary Inspectorate of the Department of Food Safety and Veterinary Matters of the Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development is responsible for all aspects of animal health, veterinary public health, food safety and foodstuff safety and epidemiology, which are regulated under the Act on the veterinary profession and veterinary medical chambers of 21 December 1990. Veterinarians are licensed to practice by the veterinary chamber, the Polish Veterinary Medical Chamber, which is also the professional association for veterinarians. 

Veterinary Specialist Recognition 

Poland has had a Committee for Veterinary Specialization since 1994. The committee is nominated every 4 years by the Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development, following the recommendation of Veterinary Chamber. It consists of 26 members from veterinary clinics, faculties of veterinary medicine, veterinary administration and national veterinary institute.

There is a veterinary specialist register in Poland. The title of European Veterinary Specialist can be used in Poland. Individuals have to apply to the Polish Committee for Veterinary Specialization and the EBVS residency programme will be individually assessed for compatibility with the Polish national specialist program. If compatible, a candidate has to pass the national specialist examination detailed below but does not need to complete the national programme training requirements.

Polish national veterinary specialization includes 17 programmes: diseases of ruminants, diseases of horses, diseases of pigs, diseases of dogs and cats, diseases of poultry and other birds, diseases of fur animals, laboratory animals, diseases of fish, diseases of insects, diseases of non-domesticated animals, animal reproduction, veterinary surgery, veterinary radiology, veterinary prevention and feedstuffs hygiene, hygiene of food animals and food, veterinary laboratory diagnostic, epizootiology and veterinary administration. Candidates can access specialization after 2 years of practicing. The specialization takes 2 years (four semesters). The title of veterinary specialist is granted following passing an examination.

Advanced Veterinary Practitioners

There are no Advanced Veterinary Practitioner qualifications currently.

Continuing education of veterinary general practitioners

Voluntary requirements for continuing education for veterinarians came into force on 18 October 2011. A list of veterinarians that have completed the required 200 credits in a 4 year period is available publicly and the individuals are awarded a Certificate of Membership of the Continuing Education Program.

Veterinary education 

There are six veterinary education establishments in Poland. A Veterinary School was founded at the University of Life Sciences in Warsaw in 1824, becoming a College of Veterinary Medicine in 1889 and a Faculty of Veterinary Medicine in 1927. The Faculty of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Marie Sklodowska-Curie in Lublin in 1944 and has been a Faculty within the Agricultural College since 1955. The Faculty of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Life Sciences in Wrocław was founded in 1945. The Faculty of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Warmia and Mazury in Olsztyn was established in 1966. Intercollegiate Center of Veterinary Medicine at the Jagiellonian University/Agriculture University in Kraków was founded in 2010. The Institute of Veterinary Medicine in the Department of Animal Science at the University of Life Sciences in Poznan was founded in 2011 and became the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine and Animal Science in 2015.

Veterinarians are often addressed using the courtesy title of Doctor.

Membership Organisations

The Polish Society of Veterinary Sciences is the membership organisation for veterinarians.